Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

waxes-black3     Have you tried Annie Sloan’s new Black Wax yet?  I hadn’t, so when I recently purchased a French style desk, I decided to try it.  I wanted a French blue color, so I mixed one using Annie Sloan’s Duck Egg Blue, Old Ochre, and French Linen.  Here it is with 2 coats of paint on it.  Notice how powdery soft it looks, which is the reason Annie Sloan called it Chalk Paint®.1-2016-duck-egg-desk-011     I painted the hardware as well, but I wanted to give it some definition, so I thought of adding another color and gilding cream.  I painted a sample board, then added Old White and gold gilding cream to the design, then waxed with clear and black wax:1-2016-duck-egg-desk-010     Liking the result, I proceeded with the waxing.  Black wax by itself is, well, very black.  So, I decided to make my own shade by using clear wax and mixing in small amounts of the black until I liked the shade.  Annie Sloan’s waxes can be freely mixed.  Practice on molding pieces until you get the look you want.  And viola:1-2016-duck-egg-desk-030  Here’s another photo:1-2016-duck-egg-desk-021   

You can see how the black wax settled into the crevices and made the pattern stand out.  1-2016-duck-egg-desk-026     The hardware has a coat of the blue, a layer of Old White dry brushed over it, and the black wax in the crevices.  After waxing the entire piece, I applied a layer of gold gilding wax with my finger, just hitting the highlights on top of the pattern.  The metallic creams should be applied last.1-2016-duck-egg-desk-020     The shade of black wax I mixed subtly aged the blue color.1-2016-duck-egg-desk-014

 

Thanks for stopping by.  Visit your local Annie Sloan Stockist to purchase any of Annie’s products, take a workshop, and be inspired to beautify your home.

KASSY at ATTIC DOOR VINTIQUES